Chief's Advisory Committee

In 2017, Ordinance No. 17-05 was passed authorizing the Port Arthur City Council to establish the Port Arthur Police Chief Advisory Committee. The commission shall be comprised of 18 members and each council member and the mayor shall appoint 2 members to the commission to serve 1-year terms. Vacancies shall be filled by the city council member serving in the position making the original appointment for the unexpired term. 

Members of the Police Chief Advisory Committee  serve without compensation, and all members of such commission shall be subject to removal at the will and pleasure of the city council. 

The mission of the committee is to enhance citizen understanding, communication, and cooperation between the police department and the community. The committee acts in an advisory capacity to the Chief of Police.